The rural soccer league is an initiative aimed at developing young and upcoming soccer players in Mangaung as well as discouraging youths from engaging in destructive activities like crime, alcohol and drug abuse.

Sposoring the initiative since 2013, Interstate have vested in this valuable community project with an anual sponsorship to the value of R 100 000.00.

Various categories are participating in the league, including the U/13, U/15, U/17, a ladies team and the SAFA promotion team. It is expected that 210 teams with approximalty 6300 players, including 64 teams from Botshabelo, 48 teams from Thaba Nchu and 98 teams from Bloemfontein will be aprticipating.

An addisional 6300 disadvantaged youths from the Mangaung area will be participating during the league with Interstate sponsoring, kit, medals and balls to the winning teams.

The initiative have continued to accomplish its goals and objectives, and to date several players have been signed by profesional teams, including,

  • Xolani Thembinkosi (Mountain Birds FC) was signed by Orlando Pirates.
  • Brandwell Gouws (Ocean X1) was signed by a club in Holland.
  • Kgotso Mokhele signed by Bloemfontein Celtics
  • Letshego Segalo (FC Remember) was signed by Free State Stars
  • Moeketsi Sejane (MO2KFA FC) was signed by Maluti FET’s National First Division.
  • Sello Jafta was signed by Free State Stars FC.
  • Kobedi Kobedi was signed by Bloemfontein Celtics Diski Multi Choice.
  • Sipho Klass was signed Mpumalanga Witsbank Spurs FC.
  • Katleho Maphathe was signed by African Worriors FC.
  • Moeketsi Sekola was signed by Free State Stars FC.
  • Thato Kgaile was signed by Free Stars FC.
  • Tshokolo Tabi was signed by Free State Stars FC.
  • Thato Phelehu was selected to play for the national U/17 (Amajimbos) team in 2014. Currently he is representing the Free State province at the indoor football national championships.

There are various match venues namely,

  • Thaba Nchu:
    Mighty Bucks ground, Manyoloi Ground Two for joy ground. Mexico ground. Mo2kfa ground zone 1, Junior Cosmos ground, Golden Young Stars ground, Moroka Zebras ground (Moroka), Mokoena Sports Ground, City Sharks ground.
  • Botshabelo:
    Winter Roses Ground, Samba ground, Homeland Ground, Black Urban Ground, Kama ground, Lazio ground, Napoli ground, Promates ground, Sabata ground, Too for joy ground, Ayebush ground, Sundows ground.
  • Bloemfontein
    Mighty Lions grounds, Black Hearts ground, Hostel 1 ground, Masenkeng sports, Phase 6 (Maditlhabela ground) Dinaweng (Mighty Kings Ground), Phase 2 (Dikonyela ground) Sejake (Naturena) Shooting Stars groung,, Phase 9 ground (James) Phase 4 ground next to police station, Peter Swartz ground, Machaineng ground (phase 4) Freedom Square, Vista Park grounds, Motherwell ground.

The roadshow dates are,

  • Botshabelo:
    Date: 21 February 2016
    Venue: Mathaithai ground
    Time: 09h00 untill 18h00
  • Bloemfontein:
    Date: 27 and 28 February 2016
    Venue: Mangaung Outdoor Sports Ground.
    Time: 09h00 untill 18h00
  • Thaba Nchu:
    Date: 5 and 6 March 2016
    Venue: Mexico ground
    Time: 10h00 untill 18h00